Calls to Action

HB 6837: An Act Concerning the License Renewal Fee and Schedule for Licensed Clinical Social Workers and Licensed Master Social Workers and the Examination Requirement for Licensure of Master Social Workers. 

CTAMFT is urging all MFTs to act on submitting testimony requesting changes to current language of HB 6837. Currently this bill proposes several changes that benefit Social Workers only, including reduction in fees and frequency of licensure renewal. Unless other mental health professions, MFTs included, are specifically mentioned we will not benefit from these changes. 

CTAMFT urges members to submit testimony requesting changes in the licensure fees include MFTs and parity in licensure fees to Social Workers. 

Public Hearing: Monday, March 6th, 2023
Call to Action: CTAMFT calls members to submit testimony regarding HB 6837 and requesting changes to include MFTs licensure fees be adjusted within parity to Social Workers as proposed.

Testimony Template: HB_6837_ctamft_member_testimony.docx

Public Hearing Scheduled: Monday, March 6th, 2023

Committee: Public Health

ACTION REQUIRED:Testimony requesting amendments to HB 6837 


Instructions on submitting written testimony: 

  1. Download and edit the testimony template to include your name and credentials in the highlighted areas. Feel free to share more of your personal experience in this letter as well. Save as a PDF file. 
  2. Submit through this link: (select Hearing date 3/6/2023 and Bill Number HB06837 from the drop down menus).

To track the status of this bill, visit: